top of page

Is IAS overrated?



I don't want to offend any UPSC aspirants but…yeah, IAS is very OVERRATED.


I am not speaking about IAS officers who manage huge districts and exerting (who are literally underrated). I'm also not speaking about the UPSC CSE Exams (which is one of the toughest exams in the world). I'm speaking about the ‘IAS Job’. Please understand the difference.


Let me debunk some arguments which coaching centers use to lure young aspirants.


1.) You get a huge bungalow


Yes, you do. But there’s a catch.


You get a really old bungalow.

You will be staying there for 18 months (max).

You will have little or no family life. So no point in ‘bungalow’

In major cities, you would possibly just get a flat.

You will not be given a house after you retire. (wtf!!!)

2.) You get a red beacon vehicle


You tell me, what's the purpose of working so hard for 2-3 years and getting this for subsequent 10 years of your life….


……when you'll work ‘slightly less’ for CAT/GMAT and obtain this within 5-10 years. (CAT/GMAT is additionally incredibly tough, btw)


I won’t even take a re-evaluation at the previous.


3.) Your Pay


I am not even getting to mention this. It’s embarrassing.


4.) Your Big Office


What the hell was that!


Anyways, since you had to tug my profession into this debate, I’ll answer it from my perspective but I think it’ll apply to your question regarding the IAS too. I also hope to bury the shitty debate on Indian Army Vs Indian Administrative Services raging on Quora for quite a while with this answer.


I get asked tons of times on Quora and in my friend circle whether the Indian Army is overrated? I’ve been in this profession for about 5 years now (counting my cadet days) and regardless of how hard I’ve tried to convince these folks they’ve refused to know whenever. So now when the question comes up at any forum I only ask them this: “Tell me, what does one realize our profession?” I ask this question because I presume beforehand that you simply would’ve adequate knowledge of what I do before you judge my work.


A lot of individuals (with “overrated” issues go like this)


That only losers (guys who couldn’t finish 4 years of college) join this profession.

There is nothing technical about the soldiers, you run, you shoot, you die.

The Officer class doesn’t move their ass and live royally.

That much more professions get less recognition than the military. (as you dragged us here they drag the civil services into the talk to prove some extent .)

Then I ask them about the source of their information and most of the days it seems as the Internet, a parent who doesn’t want them to require up the profession of arms or stupid rumors making rounds.


After I patiently hear their rants, I give them a smile and leave and that they gloat in the happiness of proving some extent, I leave not because I’m lazy or have accepted defeat but because I don’t interact with fools. those who judge you all the time despite knowing nothing about your profession and armed only with stereotypes.


Some of the civilians such as you erect us on such a high pedestal that we get acrophobic once we look down, in every debate the soldiers are dragged in, “soldiers are dying on borders but you can’t (insert whatever shitty point you wanted to prove) do the rounds all the time.


A long time ago I wont to consider IITians as overrated, nerds who can’t do anything but mugging. My perception was broken and trampled and my ego was deflated once we were taken for a visit to a close-by IIT, I lived with them every week on their campus and learned some valuable lessons in life, their daily struggles were tons almost like our academy days, these guys were not overrated on behalf of me because I now knew what it really takes to form a genius and that I made peace with the very fact that there have been people that were much more intelligent than me.


Some IAS probationers visited us a few years back and lecture them I realized how little I knew about the planet, they were filled with energy and crazy ideas, they might mesmerize crowds with their passionate speeches, they were special, like us. the half of who aren't engineers during this nation. I don't know what would become of those people in coming years, some might become stooges of politicians and a few might become an epitome of honesty, what I actually know is that they're special and therefore the nation cannot run without them.


In the end, I ask you an equivalent thing I ask the gang who judges my profession: “What does one realize the IAS that made you reach this conclusion?” You better have some damn good reasons otherwise you would be no better than the fools I avoid.


Enroll in the IAS Online Course to start your preparation from the best online learning platform and with the right guidance



1,246 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page